We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in

business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base

because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the

café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the

children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent

national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under

age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete

with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café.

In the passage the business manager of Monarch Books proposes to replace their children’s book section with a café to prevent the competitor from entering the market in Collegeville. In order to provide strength to his argument the manager needs to provide more evidence that by opening café in their store will help to ward off Book and Bean from opening. The arguments proposed by the manager in the passage are questionable and lack logic.

Firstly, the manager mentions that Book and Bean have already planned to open their store. Supposedly they must have done thorough research and then planned to open the book store. Thus manager’s assumption that opening a café will stop Book and Bean from opening are wrong. Even if Monarch Book open café then there is no guarantee that competitors will change their plan.

Secondly, as mentioned Monarch Books have established a strong customer base over 20 years. It might be possible that most of the customers visit the store with children under 10 because of the children’s book section. So on removing the children section might refrain the customers from visiting the store. Also it is not mentioned by the business manager that Book and Bean store will be opening a children section or not. If they do not have a children section then Monarch Books might be more profited and even Book and Bean has a children section there is no guarantee that they will visit there or not.

Thirdly, the author has mentioned national survey, but the results of survey can vary for Collegeville. It has not been mentioned by the author that of which states the national survey was taken. It can be a survey of any X, Y and Z states and the decline must have occurred there. It is also possible that there might be a increase in population of children below 10 in Collegeville. Also there is a possibility that customers may like the ambience of the Monarch Books. By introducing café, it is possible that people may not like the new ambience.

Hence, the business manager of Monarch Books needs to more analysis of the situation and provide more evidence supporting his argument. The argument he proposed has many flaws and is not valid.