Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument at first glance, might be quite convincing for readers. However, a closer scrutiny reveals that the author fails to consider a series of evidence that might undermine or support his argument. In order to fully understand the validity of this argument, we need additional information before making the final decision.

First, we need information about whether the Brim River was as deep and broad as it is now. The argument only mentions the current situation of the river and neglects the possible variations in the prehistoric time. It could turn out to be the case, for example, that...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.