Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument has failed to convince us that Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean. The arguments, as it stands, is based on questionable assumptions and a faulty line of reasoning, a fact which renders it over-simplistic and unconvincing.

To begin with, in the beginning of the argument, the writer states a faulty causal relationship. Just because the baskets were found in the vicinity of Palea, It does not mean that it belongs to Palean people. The author ignores the fact that the basket could have been brought from other or nearby villages. What if the baskets were held by tradesmen and then abandoned in their way traveling to another country for commerce? What if Palean people had borrowed the knowledge of weaving baskets from another community? The arguer fails to pay attention to the other possible factors and takes the ONLY factor available and put it into account. The argument could have been stronger if the had mentioned enough and substantial evidence concerning the origin of the woven baskets.

Next, the author mentions a recent discovery concerning another possible origin of the baskets, at another city over the Brim River. The author states that due to the fact that there “is” a deep, broad river between the two cities, and the fact that Palean people did not have access to a boat, It is not uniquely theirs. To start with, the author uses a vague term and does not justify further evidence for his/her assumption. It is said that “the Brim river is very deep and broad”. The mentioned sentence is full of mistakes. What does the present tense of the sentence mean here? Assuming that the tense means the present time, the author judges about an ancient city and its artifact based on present information. Maybe at that time, there were nothing but ploughland between two cities, or maybe the two cities were both parts of a bigger city. The author fails to clarify what he/she means by the stated information. The passage would have been stronger if the author had not used a vague term and clarified his/her statement with scrutiny.

Finally, the author draws a cause and effect relationship which follows a big gap in logic. The arguer states that because no boats were found, the baskets were not uniquely Palean. Hence, it is unconvincing to make such a big conclusion with little evidence. Maybe there were boats made by Palean people and the blame is on researchers who excavated the area. Maybe they even had the knowledge to use boats and to make them but they were all burned in an inclement weather. What if the depth of the water, at that time, were not the same as it is today. The author fails to mention the fact that the passage of time changes things. What is true today, mentioning depth and the broad of the river, cannot be true tomorrow. The author even mentions a discovery, which could be faulty and erroneous. At last, the author’s conclusion and the leap in logic fail to convince the reader about the information provided. The passage would have been more sound if the arguer had provided enough evidence for the causal relationship drawn.

To conclude, based on substantial assumptions and poor evidence, the arguers’ reasoning does not provide concrete support of his/her conclusion. If the argument had included the items discussed, it would have been more thorough and convincing.