Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The argument make a number of unwarranted assumption and lacks clear evidence as to how "Palean" baskets are not unique to Palean community. Taken as a whole, this lack of evidence render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if these unstated evidences do not show true, the argument can be taken apart.

The argument assumes that the mere presence of the Brim River and the absence of boats as the single most deciding factor. However, no specific geographical evidence of the river of prehistoric time is given. It could be the case where the Brim river didn't even exist, or some natural calamity might have altered the dimensions of it. Untill and unless we don't know the status of river at the time of Palean community we can't consider the effect it may have had on the baskets.

The argument furthur assumes that the mere absence of boats denotes no other way to transfer goods across the river. Palean people might not have the knowledge of boats and they may have used logs to transfer basket for trade. Furthermore, a temporary bridge might be in place at the prihistoric time. Unless, we know specifically that there were no other way of transport present between the two cities we can't surely say that there was no connection between the villages.

lastly, geographical changes are quite common to take place . No account has been given wether there was some natural calamity, which made people of Plean to leave and settle into nearby regions, thus the presence of similar baskets in Lithos were present. Author, must provide a account showing wether there was no transfer of people from Palean to Lithos.

The argument lacks on the evidences that seriously undermines its validity. Unless more evidence is given, the argument falls apart, and "Palean" basket could actually be unique to Palean community.