Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

In the preceding argument the author claims that woven baskets found in Palea with specific characteristics are actually not unique to Palea because it was also found in the adjacent village Lithos, to which Palean had no access because of a deep river between them. Although this argument may seem quite reasonable and convincing at first galnce, upon careful scrutiny, it is rife with flaws and premises. More survey and investigation are required to reach a concrete conclusion.

To begin with, the author implies that Palean could not cross the Brim River without a boat between Palea and Lithos because it is wide and deep. Since no boat was found in the Palea village, the possibility that the baskets found in Lithos were passed from Palea to Lithos is precluded. However, in archaeology, one must consider all the circumstances in a prehistorical situation. We do not know what did the river look like in ancient times. It is quite likely that the Brim River was newly born at the Palean's era, therefore is not as wide and deep as it is now, thus was easy for Palean people to walk or swim across the river.

What's more, given the Brim River was indeed deep and broad, the author's argument that Palean were not able to cross it because no boat was found is still not concrete. The author did not mention if the Palea village was thoroughly explored. If not, the lack of evidence of the existence of boat cannot demonstrate that Palean haven't constructed any, but due to the reason that the archaeologists haven't found the remains yet, or the boat was built by some easily-eroded material, such as wood, and therefore cannot lasts long. So the author need to present more information to make the argument cogent.

Lastly, building upon the arguments mentioned previously, the author reached a conclusion that the woven baskets with Palean characteristics found in Lithos must originated there, for his/her evidences preclude any possibility of Palean transporting baskets to Lithos. However, more investigation on the Lithos is needed to demonstrate this conclusion. Although it may be true that Palean couldn't cross the Brim River, but we do not know if it was people in Lithos, who somehow have the ability to built boats, played the role of communication between these two places across the river and brought Palean baskets back to their own village. Without this confirmed, the conclusion is not persuasive at all.

A woven basket found in Lithos is quite likely to show that it is not unique to Palea, but the arguments provided by the author here are clearly not enough to reach such a conclusion, and deeper and more thorough exploration is required to get a scienfitic and accurate conclusion.