All college and University students would benefit from spending at least one semester abroad studying in a foreign country. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A semester abroad in a foreign country is an opportunity to immerse one's self in a new culture and to gain the benefits associated with study abroad programs. I partially agree with the above statement and believe that all students can benefit from study abroad programs only if they have met the requirements to do so and my reasons are elaborated below.

A semester or more abroad can provide students with an opportunity to learn their courses from different perspectives and as a result broadening and enhancing their knowledge. For instance, as an engineering student in the UK, the laws of physics guiding engineering are universal but engineers are used with using these laws to solve problems in their societies. Such problems vary across countries. A program abroad in Africa for instance introduces problems like a paucity of electricity that would otherwise be absent in the student's home country.

Another benefit is the chance to experience cutting edge research, facilities, courses or teaching styles. For example, the US provides the best aerospace aerospace engineering courses in the world asa result of their investment in understanding space through NASA. Studying in such country can broaden a student's knowledge and lead to academic development.

Another benefit of the study abroad program is personal development in which students learn a new language through immersion with the culture and people of that country. It is important to note that learning a language is an involved task for some students and consequently language becomes a barrier restricting such students from gaining the benefits of study abroad. Such students might struggle comprehending lectures, assignments and so much more or even interacting with native speakers

Furthermore, the cost of living in a foreign might be another hurdle for some students hindering them from reaping the benefits of study abroad. The UK for instance with a high cost of living might provide financial problems for a student whose home country has a lower cost of living.

In conclusion, I believe a semester abroad expands students' knowledge academically and personally but these benefits can not be fully attained unless students meet the requirements to study abroad like a proficiency in the language of that country and being able to adapt to the cost of living of that country.