All parent should be required to volunteer their time to their childrens school.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent of which you agree or disagree with the recommendation.

Participation in educational settings by parents of students is crucial to the development of education and moral values. Parents, however, do not always see this as a vital part of their children’s’ schooling. Mothers, fathers, and guardians alike, should put forth every effort to maintain familiarity with their child, teachers, and education staff to help children thrive in their studies.

First, if parents do not see fit to participate in their children’s activities in school, it is likely the child’s grades will not flourish. By volunteering time, parents can get to know all staff that leads their child’s development on a daily basis. Maintaining a healthy relationship with school staff can also help give parents more readily available resources if a problem arises. Being on a first name basis with teachers and other staff can give parents the upper hand with their pupil’s education by being “in the know.” Parents who offer up their time for educational volunteering are much more likely to develop healthy relationships with staff than parents who do not. Also, even though it is stereotypical, teachers may tend to be favorable towards children whose parents attend PTO, fundraisers, sporting events, classroom parties, etc. over those whose parents do not.

Furthermore, volunteering when the need arises, shows children leadership. This is a crucial part of a child’s development that is learned through watching others participate in it. Children are more likely to grow up into hard-working, responsible adults if they have watched their parents practice headship and a lending hand during their youth. For example, if the school is hosting a fundraiser car wash, children whose parents show up to help with the day’s festivities, are more likely to show up and show support than children of parents who make no effort to be there. It is a proven fact that children learn by example. Hence, parents should always volunteer their time and effort when a school activity is in place to show children the importance of being a part of something meaningful.

Finally, history shows that students whose parents do not contribute in their schoolwork, tend to have worse outcomes in their education. For example, if “Jane’s” parents never show up to parent teacher conferences, how will they be informed that she has been skipping biology class everyday for two weeks? When parents are not involved in the education, children tend to veer off the expected path due to not suffering consequences of their actions. When parents feel welcomed by familiar faces of school staff, they are more likely to participate in such meetings.

Even though it may pose difficult due to time constraints and busy schedules, it is pertinent that parents put forth effort to be engaged in all aspects of their child’s education. However hard and endearing it may be, the students’ benefits outweigh the hardships of parents’ who do not take part in their daily school activities.