All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Essay topics

Schools have played an essential role in children’s stages of growth and development. Schools together with parents are the most important powers to shape and educate children. The prompt recommends that all parents should spend time on children’s schools as volunteers. I strongly agree that parents spending volunteer time is required and beneficial to both parents and children for two reasons.

First of all, in this era of technology, people tend to communicate and interact with one another via Internet and digital devices but neglect the importance of spending time talking and interacting face to face. This situation not only happens in friends but families as well, which can be frequently seen in restaurants, where families sit in the same table but not talking to each other, but instead using their own smart phones. To avoid this case, if parents can volunteer time to their children’s schools, they will be able to spend time with their children in person, reducing the risk of technology indifference. For instance, for parents who accustom to letting children use smartphones themselves instead of reading storybooks or interacting with children face to face at home, if there is no way to guarantee them to spend time on their children in person, then their children are likely to grow up without enough love and care from parents, which is harmful to their relationship with parents. However, if their parents can attend to volunteer time, they can not only spend time together at school, but children can also sense parents’ caring for them because parents are willing to spend time on them and their school, which will definitely lead to a closer relationship between children and parents.

Further, volunteer time to children’s schools will allow parents to have a clear understanding of children’s life at school. Not every child knows how to express everything they see our encounter at school, so it might have a potential risk that children are actually facing some difficulties at school but they don’t know how to explain to their parents or they don't even want to. In this case, if parents are required to school for volunteers, they can gain the opportunities to observe what the class looks like and how their children live and learn in this atmosphere. For example, it is not uncommon to see news with children killing themselves because of being bullied. They chose not to speak to their families and end their lives silently. Let’s consider if their parents had a chance to volunteer to children’s schools and spend time interacting with their classmates, then what will the case be like? Their parents were very likely to sense that something was wrong since no one wants to play or talk with their children, and their children were having a depressed and sorrowful face all the time which may not appear at home. Consequently, parents can realize that children were not happy at this environment and took actions instead of letting children suffer, showing that volunteer time can give parents a lot of information about children’s school life and can even stop some tragedies from happening.

Although some may argue that many parents have to work so there will be no time for them to come to school, the recommendation is not requiring parents to spend ‘a lot of’ time, so parents can actually spend their annual leave, just for once or twice, paying a visit to schools. After all, a good relationship with their happy and healthy children is priceless. In a conclusion, I strongly agree with the recommendation that parents should be required to volunteer to their children’s schools.