All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

As we human beings progess in this world, companies: a term invented for the modern age has been lurking more and more. If we look into our past, even before the start of the industriliazation age, there was no such thing called "company" existed. The prompts offers a view, which is , companies operational efficiency should be enhanced by recruiting a consultant to revise their policies. And gives a opinion that their own employees advices are much more effective, leaving outside consultancy redundant. I agree to this opinion for several reasons, but also acknowledge some shortcomings.

At first, any company, even if it is as big as tech giants Apple and Google, hiring outside consultants takes up a substantial amount of money. If we circumsribe our companies to be startups or small campanies which started recently, this expenditure will be marked as too prodigal for them. This may even cut down their revenues by a huge remarkable amount. As a whole, for this range of companies, consultancy is a poor choice of strategy which will be invasive for the companies. If we look into the big companies which have more profits and revenues that they can afford such consultancy without having to worry about money, there is no hundred percent surity that advices will prove effective to their respective companies. There may even be a possibility that suggestions lead them into huge amount of loss. In general, the amount of money associated with the consultancy and probability of these suggestions working out for a company are not making a better company. The ideas and intimations from the respective employees should be more important and utilized as a great resource to make the company a better one.

Furthermore, consultancy not only takes up a huge amount of money, but also occupies a great space of time. Time , which is too much of valuable for any company, should not be wasted into mere good ideas of a consultant. It is better to have surveys and questionnaiers within the employees. The surveys will help the company evaluate more about the needs of the employees and how should the internal infrastructre of a company should be modified to increase the operational efficiency. There may even be minor changes which will help the company such as, in a certain company, there is no coffee machine inside the company which leads considerable wastage of time for employees who prefers coffee over other beverages. This employees may go outside to a coffee shop, which leads to certain amount of time go to waste. This small time intervals accumulates to a huge chunk of wasted time that can easily be eradicated by installing a coffee machine.

However, some companies do need consultancy to make some authoritative decisions about the company's future decisions. As employees are not fit to delve their suggestions about the future, outside help may be needed. As the consultants are expert about these kind of advises, they may be able help the company more than the employees in this field.

In conclusion, even though there are some limitations of consultancy's help about the company.