Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

At this age of modern era, numerous socio-economic ideologies and morals are rapidly morphing into new ones. As the claim in the prompt is about the past events are not beneficial with respect to the current phenomenons, as there should be a distance between the present and the past, before incorporating them. I mostly disagree with this for some reasons, but acknowledge the claim in some cases.

To begin with, as individuals or as a society, only way to get ahead in our life/lives is to contemplating about the past. Ruminating about the mistakes that we made, and to learn from these very mistakes to avoid them in the future. Our past is our error-logs, our errors, our mistakes, our downfalls, and our failures. These rich resource should be used not only as an individual, but also as a society, as a country to reflect upon them, and be a better person, society , or even a country. As in the 19th century, we had two world wars in our world, which were destructive, left indelible marks in the face of Earth. Thousands of people were killed, thousands of people were tortured, society torn to pieces, and normal life of people were in havoc. And all these, for what ? Every country should be aware of the outcomes of these wars, as these kinds of actions should never be repeated. As allied forces nuclear bombed Japan at the end of war killing thousands and thousands of innocent people, still considered as the darkest day in human race.

Additionally, we should always look back into our pasts, and meticulously scrutinize our mistakes. As individual, one maybe was a slacker in his high-school days, but at present wants to have a stable career in life. So, at first he has to acknowledge his errors, mistakes, and the indifference to schools should be considered. He has to give up these actions, as it led him to a bad corner in his life. He has to cut the slacking, be more attentive to his surroundings and make the most out the opportunities that is available to him. That being said, there is not always an instant reflection about the past. In many cases, the distance between the present and the past is a must. For example, if this was considered for a tech company, there is has to be a minimum gap in the time-line for them to know about their mistakes, and make better decisions. As FaceBook is a corporate legend in social media industry, is being prosecuted for their clients privacy violations. It's a tech company, they do not have ready made solutions to tackle such claims and allegations. They have to go through their codings regarding such issues, and try to correct them.

In conclusion, it is best to say, past is the wonderful resource for anyone, assimilating the past for the present decisions has its pros and cons.