"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

The prompt is from a memorandum of a manager of a radio station that asserts that there has been a decline of listeners, they should either transform their rock-music format or shying from their original format and make it a news and talk format station. In support, at first, they wanted to make change to their music flavors, but local sales of recorded musics suggested otherwise, so they want to fully renovate their station to a news and talk format. The argument is rife with numerous assumptions that leads to a illogical hypothesis.

At first, it is stated that there is population growth in their area but most of them are not young. They came to that area after their retirement. Their primary assumption was that they may not listen to their rock-music format. There may lie other reasons. Such as, there may have been decline in all kinds of music in that area. The locals may have switched their interest. There may have been big parks or football fields, where the young one goes for a run or play football, soccer, or other sports. And perhaps a new radio station have more lucrative songs for the people. Also, the former listeners may have stopped listening to radios. If any of these are true, the argument is significantly weakened.

Additionally, radio station wanted to change their rock-music format to the taste of the people. But as there is a decline in local sales of recorded music, they came to the conclusion that the people have a parochial interest in music. This may be true, but they maybe opting for other ways to listen to music. Buying a physical recorded music is merely one way of listening to music. From this, it is falsely concluded that they have blinkered music interest and they do not listen to music that much. There are so many websites and apps in mobile phones that are dedicated to songs. Such as, Itunes, spotify and many more. And youtube alone has thousands and thousands of songs that you can stream for free. Therefore, the people may have find other means of listening to the music. Maybe the quality of sounds of the radio station has plummeted over the years which may led to gradual decline of listeners. Radio station may think about spicing up their game by inviting some singer or band to their radio station, and performing live music fests through radio.

Furthermore, the prompt stated that news and talk format is the new trend in that area. More and more people are listening to this types of radio stations. Hence, they should also transform their rock-music format to a calm and not very original or innovative news and talk format radio station. There are no empirical evidence behind the statement. There has to be a study or research that undeniably states that it is true that this news and talk format is popular in their area. Otherwise, this may be a fluke or spurious news. Without some statistical figures, this should not be trusted. If these are true, the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed with several unwarranted assumptions. Argument needs to address these assumptions with proper evidences that strengthens the arguments, else all the above assumptions weakens the argument significantly. Only by providing cohesive evidences regarding these assumptions, the argument will be a cogent one.