An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The prompt is about an international development organization which is trying to reconcile between vitamin A deficiency among the people of the nation Tagus. A new breed of millet was developed to fight against the deficiency. In support of the argument, the farmers will be paid a certain amount to farm this millet. The argument is rife with holes that leads to an illogical hypothesis.

To begin with, Though, it is stated that the seed of this millet is expensive, the farmers will get subsidies to grow this new type of millet. Now, does the subsidies offset the higher price of the seeds? It is not mentioned clearly. There are three possible cases for this ambiguous statement. At first, the subsidies may surpass the expensive price of the seeds which results in a positive reinforcement among the farmers to farm this millet. Secondly, it may equally neutralize the higher price of the seeds. This does not give a incentive to the farmers to grow this, but it is up to their decisions. They may grow the new millet in their farming fields or may not give up their usual farming crops. Thirdly, the subsidies are less than the higher price of the seeds. Ergo, farmers probably not going to farm this millet. Therefore, a proper and clear statements should be given. Unequivocal numbers of the prices of the seeds and the subsidies to have a better support for the argument.

Additionally, millet is a staple food for the people of Tagus and they will consume this new variety of millet too. This is a big assumption. Just because one type of millet is favored by the people of Tagus does not necessarily implies other types of millets would be appreciated just as much as the former type. For example, we assume that people of a certain city consumes meat burgers of a certain type. There may have been other eclectic burgers available in that town, but only one certain type of burgers are preferred by the people. Otherwise, all the burger frenchises around the world would be profitable. If any of these are true, the argument does not hold any water.

Thirdly, the new breed millet is high in vitamin A. This statements needs valid empirical analysis that supports that indeed the new breed of millet has abundant amount of vitamin A. Without any study or research behind this new engineered millet, the argument falls apart. Proper statistical figures should also be provided. And a comparison with the usual millet and this new millet should also be provided to have a better understanding about it.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed with numerous assumptions. These assumptions need to addressed with proper evidences to make the argument a cogent one. If truly, this millet is high with vitamin A, and the subsidies provide enough incentive to the farmers, then promotion of the millet will be a good cause.