Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers

Moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader,If a leader is strong in moral judgment it will be helpfull in his leadership.I disagree with statment as maintaing respect of his peers is very importent for healthy work culture.

For example if an employee is hard working and due to some personal reasons he or she might not be able to perform well from some days then Team lead of his team should be able to identify from his moral judgment and he should respect his current performence ,This will lead to trust building in the team and employee will feel like family .He or she might perform well in coming days.

On other hand if team lead is not good with moral judgment and unable to identify his team's moral issues then with time employees will start loosing their interest in work and may be they might resgine from the company.

Although maintaining respect is importent but it is not possible to maintain the respect all the time ,There might be few cases when employee is not working properly delbertly ,So team lead will need to be harsh and might have to reprimend employee for not doing work properly.

In conclusion i will say moral judgment is important skill for leader and he should be able to maintain respect of his peers except for the few cases where he has to take bold steps for the team work.