Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A leader is someone who helps a group he leads to achieve great heights and let the individuals in a group flourish independently. It is often said that a leader is not born he is made. Some of the great leaders over the time posessed some common qualities like punctuality, respect of the peers and the lteam, having a good sense pof moral judgement and also [respecting the competition. Now comparing these qualities to one another is not easy, deciding what quality helps someone become a better leader depends on the group he is leading. In case of deciding between sound moral judgement and respect for the peers, I believe they go hand in hand.

One example of a leader is Mahatma gandhi, he led India to gain independence with just his words and a theory that suggests Non Violence. mahatama Gandhi believed in the theory that respecting the peers and even his followers is important for any individual to gain the confidence where he can actually help the team and the agenda. Mahatma Gandhi's moral judgement however was also a charismatic characterstic of his personality.

The above example was about a man who made a whole nation follow him ,On the other hand if we talk about a much smaller scale leader like a leader in corporate ladder for example a manager he should also have a sense on how to mantain professional relationships with his peers whilst giving them respect that they deserve. According to a study in 2019, most of the corporate office leaders treat their staff as slaves and this reflects neither respect for the peers nor sound moral judgement. This 2019 stat clearly stated that unhappy employees and productivity in an office are inversely propotional. If the employees are respected by their leader and the leader has a sound moral judgement, more productive the team would be.

as in the latter scenario the employees are florished in an environment where they feel their opinions are valued and hence people can help make the days more productive.

In conclusion, I believe both sound moral judgement and respect to the peers are equally important and go hand in hand. If even one quality is missing then the leader cannot relate with his followers and finally due to disparate ideas the gap would increase and both will never see eye to eye in anything, that will be the recipe for disaster.