Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

For a leader, one must poses not just one characteristics, but many. Which includes practising good moral judgement as well as earning their peers respect. I agree to the statement to certain extand. As a reader I strongly believe that a leader must posses both, good moral judgment as well as maintain respect among peers.

A business leader can't be quite influencer just by practising good moral judgment. He/She needs to take into account the needs, wants and opinions of all its stakehlders, which is an indirect way of earning and maintaing respect among his peers. When it comes to business there are multiple parties at stake, be it consumers, employees, share holders, with all having individual interest while sharing one common interset, growth of their company. As every indivial have different sets of moral, chances of conflicts are pretty high. It is when the leader need to step in. He/ She need not necessarily need to be obseques to earn their respect, just need to be bold enough to diffentiate between wrong and right. To achieve goals, it is important to stand as a team and it is not possible without each others cooperation. As a leader to have a cooperative team, he/she needs to be respected.

While a political leader need to overlook over thousands and millions of people if not billion, it is not quite easy to please them all. But there is always a simple way to earn respect. Be honest and upfront. One leading a vast community can not merely poses the characterist of good moral judgement. It must have practical mindset too. For example, a politician must have a good moral judgement, but his party members are quite against him because he is shot tempered, he can never sustain a high position in his party through which he can help billions of people.

Also talking about a spiritual leader, while having a good moral judment it is quite necesarry, it is also important to earn people's faith and respect. A spiritual leader merely practicing on base of moral jugment can end up spruning fights. One must certainly practice keeping in mind a vast picture.

It is thus understood that a leader, be in business, political or spiritual feild, needs to poses both, good judgemnt as well as maintain respect among peers to achieve success in their respective fields.