Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Sound moral judgement is a significant characteristic of an effective leader. In fact, sound moral judgement and ability to maintain the respect of peers are interwined closely and are are not as dispatrate as presented in th above statement. A good sense of morality can go a long way in ensuring respect of peers.

History is witnees to the fact that influential leaders like Mahatma Gandhi, Nelson Mandela and the kindred have demonstrated strong moral judgement. These leaders were able to inspire mass movements through their ability to separate the good from the bad and lead by examples in embracing the good. Mahatma Gandhi appealed to the conscience of masses and enlightened their morality. This ability ultimately earned him respect of peers and contemporaries around the world.

We often look up to our leader in times of crisis and urge them to show the way. It is imperative in such situations that our leaders make the right choices. Sometimes the definition of correct can be subjective and debatable but it is important for leaders to make a choice and justify its correctness. A recent study has shown that people are more likely to follow strong leaders who can make correct moral choices and be steadfast in their belief than leaders who vacillate between choices.

Critics can argue that strongmen who stoke public emotion without weighing the moral righteousness of their decisions often command resepct from peers. However, it goes without saying that such leaders are known as much for their popularity as for the brevity of their existence. A case in point being the dramatic rise and swift decline of dictatorial leaders in the middle east. Once people realise the fallacies of such leadership, their respect for them diminishes spirally and eventually vanishes.

Therefore, it can be concluded that sound moral judgement is as important a characteristic of an effective leader as any and it ensures the leader's ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers. Thus they go hand in hand and must coexist in an individual for him to become an effective leader.