Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

The most important reason why a leader is appointed is to take morally sound decisions for himself as well as for the others. Therefore, sound moral judgment is more important characteristic of an effective leader than to maintain respect of his or her peers.

It is very well known that you cannot make everyone in this world happy. When you work in a team, there will be conflicts. But the duty of the leader is to have a sharp, long and clear vision of the end goal. This point can be proven by taking the example of Microsoft in early 2010s. Bill Gates' vision to set leading standards in software industry was abrupted by the employees when they wanted to enter and compete into the Smartphone market. Not only the smartphones with Windows operating system were a complete flop, Microsoft lost huge amount of money, resources, time and efforts thus proving the point stated above.

Although having the respect of your peers is an important aspect in how smoothly the team moves forward, sometimes the leader gets too pressed and sacrifices his/her thoughts and visions in fear of conflicts or backlash from society. If we observe in our everyday lives, how often do we find that prime minister/president has come up with the idea of his/her own ? Oftentimes, the idea is introduced by a peer who is confident in his thoughts, and the leader just takes the decision because he/she holds his/her ideas back in fear of backlash in case situation turns out bad.

Although sound moral judgment is the utmost quality of a leader, there is some truth in the counter-arguments as well. If a team does not functions as a whole, it often becomes weak and the chance of fallout increase drastically. If we take a look at how Britishers were able to take control over India, Mughals were at the peak of their power. Yet the backlash from different religions as well as conspiracies by inner people weakened the country, and thus Britishers were able to defeat Mughals and hence Colonial Rule began. However, this is a rare case scenario and can be considered as an exception to the fact that the leader should take right judgement.

Although the success of the team is responsibility of each and every member who is a part of it, the role of the leader is crucial. The leader should be logical, sharp and focused to the end goal and taking sound moral judgment should be his/her utmost priority.