In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing a

Term limits are not ubiquitously applicable for all forms of enterprise. In government, the designation of regular term limits, four years in the United States presidency, for example, ensures a balance of power and of policies ideas—a critical component to maintain civil liberties and preclude political stagnation. It is believed that, in business, CEOs and industry leaders would stagnate the innovative capacities of a company if they were to remain too long. However, let us take Apple as an example. Apple was led by the same man, Steve Jobs, for most of its existence and generated the most profitable technology experience company on the planet. It can be argued that Apple’s success and undeniable influence was contingent on Job’s lifelong leadership. When Steve Jobs passed away, the new leader Steve Cook, found his vision of Apple to be incompatible with the existing operational structure and demands of consumers and Apple entered precarious territory, shortly after. In other words, term limits are imperatives for all successful enterprises. Government and business, among other enterprises are fundamentally different in their goals and operations and, as a result, the implementation of universal term limits for leadership is inconducive and flawed.

Advances in technology and communications have made significant paradigm shifts in business, government, politics, education, and government. This system of innovation and its influence on social domains is incompatible with a universal five-year term limit for leadership. Computer power increases at very predictable rates over time and changes the technological landscape regularly. Innovation, by extension, is also rapidly growing. Beyond the material and environmental implications of these paradigm shifts, there are also social impacts as well. Machine learning, decision trees, and other forms of artificial intelligence have usurped human roles with greater efficiency and accuracy. Leadership roles are not immune to these changes. For example, in medicine IBM’s Watson, an artificial intelligence system, is rapidly encroaching on the role of physicians in diagnostics and treatment. In banking, algorithms have all but replaced the loan officer. In the near future, traditionally human roles, will become the domain of computers. Therefore, the pervasiveness of these changes is quite apparent in a myriad of fields. As a result, the traditional systems of leadership become increasingly volatile and contested. Therefore, the appropriate limit of a term limit is not fixed over time.

Term limits for leaders effective ways to ensure innovative ideas from a variety of perspectives, but do not account for the limitations of compatibility and implementation of policies and procedures beyond term limits, where the technology and by extension, the social hierarchy is obscured. There is no logical reason to assert that five years is the appropriate term limit for leaders for all forms of enterprises. Rather, leadership roles and paths to success are highly particular and should be tailored to fit their respective fields of enterprise.