In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Past achievements play a significant incentive for a person passionate to achieve success. Although, it can act as a motivation for people, but getting strongly influenced by it inhibits one to think beyond the possible. Therefore, I am not in line with the given claim that without being strongly influenced by past achievements within a field, it is impossible for a person to make significant contributions.

Firstly, strong influence of anything isn’t very favorable for one who wants to succeed. One has to let himself think freely out of the box. Basing his thinking just on the past events or achievements precludes one to make significant contribution. To verify the veracity of this point, let’s take example of any great scientist- Isaac Newton, Albert Einstein-who could think beyond possible or known. If they let the past influence them then, we would have never learnt about the energy and gravitational theory. The idea remains the same across various domain, be it sports, art or literature. A person becomes the first to do something; example-Neil Armstrong to be first to land on the moon; because he lets himself think beyond the odds, the impossible from the past.

Adding to the previous body paragraph, new plans, innovative ideas sprout only when people vary their thoughts from the one which is achieved in past. One of the leading example can be the inevitable growth in technology. Every year there are series of new innovative products coming in. We are in the era of quantum computers, bullet trains and wireless drones, all of which were not even thought to have existed in the past. If the scientists and the researchers had limited their ideas to the past achievements and innovations-where basic black and white computers were the gods, all of these would not have been possible. In zest, significant ground-breaking contribution can be done only when we let ourselves think without being strongly influenced by the past.

However, it is true that past achievements can motivate us to pursue greater in our journey. As we know, motivation can make a person from layman to an expert in a field. Inventions in the past-like complete cure for small pox, which was one of the deadly disease before then-enjoins the current generation scientists to think beyond the possible to try their level best to achieve whatever they believe in or thrives to be. I, myself, watch motivational videos of the people who have achieved greats in the past to ignite my enthusiasm. Watching these videos inspires me to work hard and have faith for my success.

In summary, past achievements, even though play a prodigious role in inspiring us become what we aspire to be, we surely shouldn’t limit our imagination with these achievements. These achievements should be considered as a base upon which we should seed our ideas, in order to make noteworthy contributions.