In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The claim states that in any field the beginner is most likely to make greater contribution than the expert. Both beginner and the expert posses the same fundamental knowledge of the particular subject they are working on. The difference in contribution lies in the extent of experience one posses. The author’s claim might look convincing but needs more scrutiny.

In any field, beginner possesses the freedom of breaking the norms by providing a different outlook towards a particular problem. Whereas the expert, who has years of experience is accustomed to the conventional approach and may have a narrow outlook towards the problem. The probability that a problem is solved either by an expert or by a beginner is equally the same.

Looking at the example of Warren Buffet who is one of the richest person in the world. The reason for this being is his experience that he has gained over the course of time. This is also the same cause that he became the richest person in his late 60s. In this example the experience is the main factor which made Warren Buffet succeed in his life.

But on the contrary, Mark Zuckerberg, the founder of the facebook, joined the same list of richest person at quite a young age. This was because of his unconventional approach and the passion to do something different from others. Today’s generation displays mettle by taking risks and are fast-paced. The determinant factor for Zuckerberg’s success was his care-free attitude and iconoclastic approach.

To sum it up, the author’s statement is quite partisan. The important contributions can be made by anyone, an expert or a beginner. The important thing is that the contribution should be driven by unorthodox means and should arise from the experience that is needed to calculate the risks.