In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

The subject of whether a beginner is more likely to contribute than an expert is quite debatable. Budding beginners may be enthusiastic about learning new things in a particular field and may display a steep learning curve while experts being already knowledgeable in the field may have a more plateau learning curve. But does faster learning translate to capabilities of making better contributions to the field? I don’t think so.

In their embryonic stages, beginners are highly motivated to acquire knowledge so that they feel capable of finishing the project at hand. Right out of college, everyone is excited to begin their career. They are eager to see what their future beholds. College students are vivacious and full of aspirations. They are filled with hope of getting better every day at what they do and maybe someday they could become the CEO of a big company. With this hope, they may show exemplary learning skills in the beginning, grasping everything they see in one go. But once they imbibe all the knowledge required, they are not beginners anymore. Consequently, there will not be any difference between beginners and experts. At this point, beginners and experts are likely to contribute equally to the project or field.

Speaking of hope, college students having never experienced corporate atmosphere or real work before, may assume it is all the same. But a few months down the line, after gradually learning things about their work and the kind of problems they are expected to solve in their work, they may soon realize that it is not the same as college. It will soon hit them that they are to face real life problems to solve. Once that epiphany hits, doesn’t matter amateur or expert, they will

Admittedly, beginners do show a lot of creativity in the way they approach a problem. However, creativity does not work all the time. Experts would have been in the same place as them before. They have experienced it all. The excitement, hope and every emotion that a beginner feels. These experiences in fact would have taught them some invaluable lessons along the way. So it is naturally incumbent on experts to guide the beginners accordingly(throughout the essay I assumed that beginners and experts are working together on the same project). When beginners make a contribution to the project, it essentially means the same contribution constitutes some percentage of the experts as well. It is in fact the expert’s guidance that has led the beginner in making that meaning contribution.

In conclusion, it does not matter who exactly contributes to the project or the field. Whether there is a good collaboration between the beginners and experts is all that matters. Both beginner’s advanced learning skills and expert’s insightful experiences are critical to take a project to a completion. And both should to go hand in hand to achieve success.