The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

The author claims that enforcing a constraint on the number of mopeds being rented out by every rental company will lead to fifty percent reduction in accidents on Balmer island. Stated this way, the argument reveals several instances of poor reasoning and evidence. To justify the recommendation, the reasons that neighboring island of Seaville had seen a 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents after enforcing similar limits on moped rentals. However, careful scrutiny of this line of reasoning reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s recommendation.

First of all, the author assumed that moped as a vehicle by itself is solely responsible for the accidents. He/she did not take into account for factors such as reduced visibility during the nights, lack of streetlights, poorly constructed roads with ditches to name just a few. Due to the lack of proper light during the night, a fast motorist could lose the sense of direction and with a speed breaker ahead, he could easily lose balance. Presence of unsealed manholes could be another factor for accidents. With the addition of rain and no streetlights along the way, the vehicle could fall into the manhole. A better recommendation in a such a scenario would be to close the potholes, put up streetlights and repair the badly constructed roads to ensure safety of the citizens.

Furthermore, moped could probably be the best mode of transportation in the island. Moped could be the most affordable form of transportation. Perhaps the island’s roads are not wide or safe enough for cars or trucks. Limiting the number of mopeds in such a case might agitate people and could result in violent protests. The author needs to look at people’s interests as well before coming a to a solid conclusion.

Finally, the author cites a similar policy enforced in a neighboring island as a support for the suggested recommendation. Following reduced number of accidents after limiting the number of vehicles rented out by the rental companies in Seaville, the author proposes Balmer island does the same. However, if the causes for accidents on Seaville do not coincide with that of Balmer island, this proposal would remain irrelevant. Seaville might have well-built roads, streetlights, sealed potholes and hence the only way accidents can happen is by rash driving of a motorist. But if that is not the case with Balmer island, then the recommendation would do not affect the number of accidents on the island.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must offer more concrete evidence, perhaps by the way of a reliable geographical survey of health of roads, examination of similarities between infrastructure of Seaville and Balmer and inclinations of people towards a possible recommendation. Until then, the stated recommendation will remain unsubstantiated and impertinent.