Claim: The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Some people idealize heroes and celebrities too much that they correlate good reputation of a celebrity to the character of the society they belong to. People expect the heroes of their society to represent them. Letting others judge the character of a society by the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its idols might do some good to the people of that society. However, I bed to differ with this claim and the supporting reason. This kind of facile symbolism reflects poor judgment and can also result in bad impressions in some situations.

First of all, I would like to point out that a society does not produce only heroes and role models but also people marked by notoriety. Any given society is a good mix of both good and evil people. A particular city may have given rise to a popular movie star who is also famous for his generosity for charitable causes. At the same time, the city could also be hosting a mafia gang bossing over the slums. Now these popular people(both good and bad) constitute a very small percentage of the total population. Ask an outsider to judge the character of the city. If he’s more repelled by the mafia’s unruly domination over the weaker parts of the city than amused by the ideals of the city, he is certainly to have to a negative impression of the city. So the claim does not state the best way to understand the character of a society.

Furthermore, the character of a society lies not in the superficial attire or ostentatious character of the heroes, it indeed is seen in the more mellow parts of the society. To examine the real character of a society, one needs to walk down its streets, taste its authentic food or meet the native people residing in the society. One could watch the local theater to understand the kind of stories they like. One of the advisable ways to understand a society’s history is to observe its cultural heritage(Monuments, forts, statues or anything that reveals yet another amusing fact about the society).

Admittedly, the famous figures influence the opinions people form of the society. This is true especially when it comes to figures of extreme popularity. For example, Adolf Hitler has left a black mark in the history of Germany. A lot of current Germans do not resonate with his then intense emotion of absolute hatred for Jews. Yet, some people when they talk about history of Germany, they almost always only remember Hitler’s cruelty. These people may label Germany as rather hatred-filled country when in reality, that is certainly not the case. However, if only one could take a ride down the roads of their country, they would see green pastoral fields that can’t ooze more peace.

The above example further proves my point of how leaders or popular figures are not the absolute measure of character of a society. It is the people, their cultural heritage and traditions that speak for its actual character.