Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether Governments of nations should allocate more funds in major cities. The reason stated assumes that it is primarily in cities that a nation’s cultural traditions are preserved and generated. Indisputably, cities do offer a variety of opportunities. They provide employment opportunities, better lifestyle compared to villages or towns with technological advancements helping us every step of the way. While it sounds sagacious to maintain as well as better what a city has to offer to its people, it definitely affects villages and smaller cities or towns adversely.

By providing more financial support to major cities, a nation should not neglect the state of villages and small towns. Almost every single nation on the globe, unfortunately, has a significant number of small towns and considerable number of slums. People from these places deserve equal right to food, water, education and progress as the major cities. If majority of Government’s funds go into developing already developed cities, what happens to the undeveloped or underdeveloped cities? Should they never experience progress? Should they remain backward in their economy? The Government should put the funds into good use and distribute them fairly such that there is hope for zero difference among economies of all the places in a country. No country should be in a dire state where the rich get richer and the poor get poorer.

Furthermore, the reason ostensibly supporting the given claim goes against popular belief of villages preserving culture more than cities. It is in the small villages that we find people still sticking to the old ancestral practices. When we think of a village, the first picture that comes to our mind is that of a green pastoral field with grazing cows scattered all over. This is a serene picture one always ascribes to the countryside. Most of the villages and small towns also have historical significance. In countries like India, the forts and palaces in the small towns built by their kings speak of rich the cultural heritage of the country. It is very rare that you can spot a historic monument in a large city, at least in India.

Besides that, cities being more developed, they attract a lot of emigrants. People from other cities or small towns of different cultures or traditions have moved to the major cities for higher paying jobs. This led to the pollution of the existing cultures and traditions adopted by native occupants of the cities. It is be hard to pair a city with a particular habit or custom as it is an amalgam of various customs. Government should invest more funds in order to preserve the heritage of the small towns and villages. That will lead to increased revenue for the country from tourism sector as well.

There are bigger problems than just tourism that a nation should solve. Education, infrastructure development, employment to name a few. Infrastructure like roads and sewage system are some of the priority elements. Many rural areas lack proper schools for kids. Using funds to set up schools not only helps in educating the kids but also opens up employment opportunities for aspiring teachers. Development in these sectors could lead to real prosperity. If we discriminate against or neglect the impecunious and keep flourishing only the developed ones, the country will keep going a downward spiral. Only when the government can focus its funds in betterment of all of its cities and villages equitably will the economy see a drastic improvement.