To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to addre

From my perspective, it's not necessary as well as impossible to require every public official to hold the highest ethical and moral standards. Granted, when it comes to choosing their own leaders, people tend to put forward as much as exacting prerequisites as possible -- wisdom, diplomacy, bravery and morality. However, I wonder that all of these dream standards can only be fulfill in the world of a fairy tale because of an obvious fact -- public officials are human, too.

On the one hand, there is no necessity to ask a public official to be morally perfect. Even though President Richard Nixon was morally defected regrading the Watergate scandal, he should still be viewed as a competent president due to his excellent ability in managing the country.

On the other hand, there are several detrimental consequences if people insist on a high ethical and moral standard on their public officials. First, they are, though unconsciously, pushing their officials to be hypercritical. For example, an official who dislikes his black neighborhood from his bottom of heart has to pretend that he is in harmony with them because of the afraid of being commented as "not political right". While debating with his opponents on TV, he has to pretend a smile and display a posture of respect even though he actually think his counterpart deplorable. What's worse, the demanding requirements of ethical and moral standards will gradually undermine the existence of probity. An official might conceal his past faults and feign a stainless resume since people have no tolerance of any ethical defects. But this could be prevented from happening if the voters show the willing to forgive insignificant misbehaving.

All in all, we are living in a real world rather than an ideal country. It's understandable that people want their public officials to be perfect, but considering the reality, it would be politic to focus more on a official's professional competence instead of putting too much emphasis on morals.