To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

While It is highly recommended in a utopian society to have such a leader, in practice it is highly impractical and a very vague statement. It is true that a leader is closely watched and followed by his followers. But to mandate an aspiring leader to have highest ethical and moral standards is being too extreme.

However a basic question that haunts this kind of vague statement is - who decides what is highest standard of moral and ethical standard? Also on what basis are these standards set ? While some people may feel a particular act is completely normal, others feel this can be left to personal choice. Whereas a different person might outright categorise it as immoral. So in a scenario similar to this, how should the leader behave? There are other loopholes in the statement made above.

Moreover, the idea of moral and ethical standards in humans varies from time to time. Consider an example of Egypt, where the royal family often married within themselves to maintain purity of blood. It was the kings and queens (their leaders), that followed these ideals. Doing same nowadays is now considered incest and such a leader is punished.

Time and Place play a major role in defining the boundaries of ethical and moral code for a society. In the pre-historic times, killing of any kind of animals was considered heroic. The people of those times killed horses, elephants, tigers etc.. But doing same today will invite the wrath of animal activists and other animal rights groups, and in some cases including the government officials.

It is right to expect a leader to have a good moral standards by any of his followers, but it is not a defining criteria to have a balanced approach, which is acceptable to individual or a group. Also since the topic of ethical and moral duties and standards are highly influenced by time, place and individual interests, it is impractical for a leader to have highest standards in these.