‘Because people increasingly eat at restaurants, all restaurants should be required to display nutritional information about the meals they serve. This knowledge makes it easier for diners to make healthy choices and reduces the risk of diet-related health problems.’

Nutritional information could be very useful before choosing a meal in a restaurant, this is because there are people who have chronic illnesses like diabetes, heart disease, etc. Not forgetting children who are better to be kept away from foods that are high in fat and calories. So having detailed knowledge about the meal’s nutrition before ordering may decrease the risk of getting sick or becoming obese for those who like to remain fit will be a brilliant idea.

As a New York Times stated in one of their blogs, 67% of people who live in the USA became obese because of fast food and high-calorie meals. Imagine if those restaurants create a menu that states how many calories each food is contained, maybe half of the above percentage would not eat that food, or they may eat a small amount of it. A better consequence would be choosing that food which is reached in vegetables and so on.

Sometimes we tend to listen to our desire, without paying attention to our health state. people with chronic illnesses like to eat delicious meals too, but the danger here is more than young and healthy classes. assuming the same amount of fats or calories in the food, it may affect twice a person who has heart disease than a person who does not have any heart issue.

Some may argue that this requirement might be costly and it might lower the restaurants’ income. At first, it might take a long process and requires a large amount of money even a disaster for the restaurants’ owner. But in the long term, it will possibly be a wise decision, because this strategy would be applied to all restaurants not just a couple of them. So, no one would take advantage of other restaurants’ new requirements of nutrition information about the food. It may increase their income too because people will have more trust in the restaurants’ food and may their rate increase more than the New York times estimation.

People would be more aware of their food and so healthier, that is why having food with the information about its content would be a brilliant idea, and this will directly reduce diseases like heart strokes and obesity.