The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and supporting your

The greatest inventions in human history came all through the minds of brilliant notorious individuals, who developed their theories by simply observing common and regular events such as the cosmos, human societies, objects’ movement, etc. Such observations only took place since their authors had a passionate interest for their specific topic and hence, I strongly agree that the best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace thing due to some few main reasons.

To begin, it is evident that the greatest inventions that are present in our society nowadays were developed by their creators due to observations and hobbies that they usually had. Tesla, the world’s leading electric car company, was only created by Elon Musk, for example, because he had a genuine passion for cars – inherited by his father who used to be a die-hart fan of motorsports. In an interview held in 1970, Microsoft’s founder William Gates Jr. stated that the only reason his company became an early success was due to his and Paul Allen’s (the other co-founder) deep passion for software and programming. Gates recalled that he used to spend several hours of his day figuring out new rules of coding as well as new how to provide an interactive user experience of software for average people. Eventually, he and his partner found out that their hobby was – in fact – worth billions, eventually making them one of the world’s richest persons. The success of such impactful inventions, such as the electric car and personal computer software, despite being usually associated for providing large sums of money to their founders, are also recognized for bringing several benefits and advantages to the society in a general way. Thus, such benefits and advantages were only provided because of bold inventors that decided to transform a certain passion or hobby into a product that could change the life of billions of people.

Secondly, even ideas that are not tangible (such as scientific or human behavior theories) also arose due to the keen interest of certain scientists over a particular topic. Some of the greatest theories known, such as Newton’s laws and Galileo’s first studies of the cosmos, arose from painstaking observations of commonplace things – such as objects falling because of gravity or the stars and planets movement dynamics. As a result, scientists, as Newton and Galileo, who had a passionate interest for their respective particular topics – did not bother in spending several months or years simply observing the phenomena and developing rules that could explain them. Regarding human behavior theories, Karl Marx’s communist manifest was only created as the writer decided to shed a light on a topic that had been concerning him for decades: the advent of bourgeoise and the concomitant exploration of industrial workers. Hundreds of hours of meticulous observation of the work relationship between employers and employees led Marx to create one of the most prominent theories of all time. Again, the observation of common events led scientist to create the majority of theories that describe the universe and human relations as we know today.

Even though the best inventions and ideas were a result of several years of work and academic preparation, it is undeniable that all of them arose from one common thing: the observation of a particular event that was a genuine interest for the inventor.