The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Oftentimes, when a group faces a crisis the individual the group turn toward to move ahead of this crisis or to solve the problem they are facing is the one known to be the leader of the group. In the prompt, it has been stated that the "best" way to prepare a society's young people for leadership is by instilling a sense of cooperation in them rather than competition. In my opinion, I moderately agree with the prompt for the following three reasons.

Firstly, One of the qualities that a leader of a group should possess is to be reliable in a crisis that the group is facing. For instance, in a software company, there are several teams that are appointed to complete one project such as the designing team, back-end team, the front-end team, all the leaders of different should complete the given project in time while maintaining its quality under the pressure of a manager if different team leaders are not cooperative and competitive in the completion then the project may be delayed. If this case is true, then the statement given by the prompt might not hold water.

Secondly, When one has a great sense of cooperation then that individual might not be suited for the leadership of a group. For instance, when a group is facing imminent danger due to an inside factor that hinders their work, he has to deal with the situation by eliminating this factor, if a leader halts at the time of making a decision and makes the wrong decision of continuing with this factor in the group due to his extreme sense of cooperation, then the group could go through many difficult hurdles. If the given case stands true then simply having a sense of cooperation is not suitable for leadership in an industry.

Lastly, When it comes to politics the leader has to be quick-witted, that is he has to make decisions that do not hinder his or his party's fame as well as help the people he is serving altogether while competing with another party that is aiming for the next election to grab the leaders seat and become the ruling party. In this case, the leader needs both a sense of cooperation and a competitive spirit to stay as the leader of the government even after the next elections and to serve the people, and the prompt stating to not instill competition might not hold water.

In conclusion, it is not necessarily the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership by instilling a sense of cooperation in them instead of competition as without a competitive spirit in a leader he would always try to keep the group together instead of making the decisions necessary and eliminating people who are a threat to the group.