The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Ones who are crowned as the heroes of society are expected to sacrifice themselves for society. The prompt states that the best way to understand society’s characteristics is to examine the men and women that society has chosen to be their heroes or role models. In my opinion, the character of a society can only be judged by the people in it and in this case, strongly disagree for the following reasons.

Firstly, who is considered a hero or role model in society? One who abides by the rules set by the constitution of that society has set and follows them to the T, or One who performs strenuous tasks in a particular field and is renowned for their expertise in that field. For instance, an individual who excels in the medicinal field and performs multiple operations, and is revered for their knowledge in the medicinal field, but this individual is blamed for an accident during one of his operations. Still, it was due to a technical fault of the oxygen cylinder. However, If the above case stands true then the prompt does not hold water.

Secondly, when there is a role model in society the people generally tend to be like the role model as role models are people's target of admiration. For instance, the role model of society appears to society as a gentleman or a gentlewoman at the same time he is not the same when he is in a private situation. However, the people who admire them, especially the younger generation who do not know the difference in good and evil easily believe in the ideologies of their role model and follow the fake persona that the role model portrays when he is with the people. If the above situation stands true then the society which is shaped by his fake persona is different from the role model of that society.

Of course, some may argue that the society’s character is shaped by their role models or heroes, but it is the case only when the society truly idealizes their heroes or role models or when both the ideologies of the society and their role models match completely only then does the prompt hold water.