The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Competition nurtures the best of talent whereas co-operation ensures its survival. The quality of mutual understanding and co-operation in an individual usually compliments the sense of healthy competition he exercises. I believe that the best way for a society to prepare its youngsters for leadership in various arenas of life is by inculcating in them a sense of mutual co-operation along with healthy competition. In the upcoming paragraphs we will provide the reasoning which corroborates this stand.

Undoubtedly, co-operation makes good leaders, but competition is a born basic instinct that human beings have. Competition can be with colleagues, neighbors, peers, family members or even with self. The true essence and result of competition comes till the point it is healthy and positive. The moment an individual competes with a desire of destruction or revenge it becomes negative and unhealthy. It does not yield the positive results it intends to. The famous example of this is Adolf Hitler, an exceptionally smart and powerful leader, who rose from the scratch, but was ultimately destroyed by his fierce competitive streak to win over his enemies and his desire to destroy their whole race. The very nature of Hitler arising out of his competitive desires instilled a sense of fear among not only his enemies but even among his friends. Consequently, he was considered as unapproachable, uncooperative, stubborn and unyielding in nature. Therefore, it is very important for mankind to keep his competitive desires healthy and constructive. Youngsters should be taught to practice healthy competition in order to unleash their potential and perform greater good in the society rather than creating destruction and negativity.

Co-operation and humility are the two qualities that can set anyone apart from the crowd. Especially when these qualities are coupled with leadership nature, one becomes a rare gem. Mahatma Gandhi is one such leader who was known for his non violence ideology and believed in utmost co-operation even with his enemies. His way of competing with British Empire in his pursuit of independence had been unique. This sense of co-operation and healthy competition even with his enemies endured his fight for independence and made him win against one of the biggest and oldest empires. Without doubt, a quality like co-operation is a must have for a future leader. It is only through co-operation that one can ensure that people will walk along side their leaders and will share their vision. Thus, co-operation is a trait which must be developed among young generation for them to become leaders of tomorrow

To sum up, mutual co-operation and healthy competition are essentially two complimentary features of any leader and a society needs to instill both these qualities equally in their youngsters in order to enable to them to become a future leader in different fields.