The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

The assertion that the society must prepare its young people in all the fields by encouraging a sense a coorporation rather competition is a controversial one. On one side competition makes people blind in order to win and on the other hand cooperation may help a person climb a ladder with difficulties. However in the final analysis, to encourage young people one should encourage cooperation rather than competition.

Firstly, who is a leader? A leader is a person who gathers all the positives from a team and empowers the team to win or achieve its goal(short term or long term). But what if a leader indulges in competition? Suddenly the vision of the leader is now to win and not achieve its ultimate goal and this indirectly avers that the team also tries to win. The "WHY" of the team changes. The team tries to run after the "WHAT". The point I am trying to make here is that the captain of the team brings out the best from each of its team members and this is only possible through a sense of cooperation. Through cooperation a team gets to learn a lot from each other. One man's strength is another man's weakness. Through cooperation the weak team member is able to strengthen his/her weakness and this indirectly means that the team will benefit from it. Hence, cooperation is what is needed in a team and not competition.

Secondly, what is actually needed is Healthy competition and not just competition. From what I mean from the word "Healthy" is; competition should be such that it nourishes all the parties involved in it. From economics we can see that prices of any goods are controlled only through healthy competition. Through constructive competition all the parties involved are able to gain for all other parties involved in competition. Weak teams can benefit from the strong teams. One example of not taking a path of cooperation is of Nokia. Till 2006 nokia was the leading seller of mobile phones in the market. But in 2007 google came to nokia with a proposal of having a new operating system in its mobile phones. Nokia saw Google as competition and not as integrating partners. What happened next is andriod was the next big thing in cell phones and nokia missed the opportunity to be a part of it. Now in 2018 nokia has its phones having android operating system. But it took 10 years for nokia to do it. Hence for a country or any other team, the leader should be instilled in a sense of cooperation or healthy competition.

Despite this fact, sometimes competition is needed. Through competition a sense of competitiveness is brought out. People try to put in extra efforts in order to win. But this again means that people should not be only motivated to win.

Hence, to learn from a wise rival is the best thing a team wants. Hence in teaching leadership institutions should encourage cooperation along with a healthy competition.