"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

In today's generation young people have to fight their way up to the top because of competition. People of earlier generation did not have to face such issues as the competition was not that high. Nowadays the increasing number of applicants for job and less vacancy has demanded for a stringent process which further narrows down the road to reach to positions requiring leadership skills.Thus I disagree with that authors statement that to prepare the young generation for leadership skills one must instill in them a sense of cooperation and not competition but in fact its the other way round.

To survive in today's market and industry one has to be competitive as there are very less positions and the number of people is high. This competition may bring out the best of the innovative and leadership qualities among the young people. It is their thinking and their competitive spirit that will bring out the best in them as a leader in any industry. Let us take the example of education to illustrate a similar scenario. Earlier every engineering colleges had a minimal requirement for students entering their college. As a result the quality was not that great and the students did not face any competition. But today due to the increasing number of applicants various entrance exams and interviews are conducted to select the best lot of students. Similarly to prepare the young people for leadership one must instill in them a sense of competitiveness.

Furthermore, this competitive spirit will fire up the ambitions young people to do better than their peers and the end result would be a set of capable and responsible leaders leading from the front in their respective fields.Thus the best way to prepare the young people for leadership is by instilling in them a sense of competition.