The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The issue states the best way to prepare young minds for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them the sense of co-operation and not competition. In my opinion, in order to excel in any field we need to have both the qualities - co-operation and competition, only then will we be a able to fight all odds and reach our goal.

Suppose, we imbibe the young people only the quality of co-operation, then they will not have the urge to do better. There is no factor the encourages them, motivates them and boosts them to reach higher. For example, in a office with two people working on a project, where one person is competent to solve the problems while the other either lacks the know-how or is just lethargic. Then in such a situation if the smart guy choose to do the job, taking the workload of both all by himself, then it is fair to take the credit all by himself so that the other guy gets a chance to improve himself rather than showing the sense of co-operation and letting him be the same in the future.

If we consider the other scenario where young people are instilled with only the attitude to compete with others, then again it becomes difficult. There are situations where it is necessary to work as a team in order to complete a given task. Suppose in the same office example, where the two guys working on a project are focused only on competing with each other and are in a race to finish the task all by themselves and take the credit, then they might not be able to complete the given task. In such situations, it is necessary for them to work together, co-operate among themselves and share the task assigned to complete it.

Thus, in order to prepare young minds to work in government, industry or any other field it is necessary to instill in them both the sense of co-operation and competition. They need to have a balance of both the qualities and decide what would be the right action to take according to the situation they are in.