The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

"A government is known to the world by the amount of welfare and unity it brings in its people, not by gold reserves or the richenss of its treasures."

A government is one of the most cardinal elements in democracy. A government should truly be elected, of the people, by the people and for the people. A government which cannot garner up confidence among its citiznes is imminent to fail. This makes the functioning of government along wtih industry and other fields of core importance. The given statement suggests that there should be more coordination among the different sectors than competition. I partially agree with this statement for three essential reasons.

Coordination, by its etymological breakup means that there should be a sense of synchronization among its different elements to be self-effacing. Cordination is also crucial when certain sections are not able to work properly, and such situations are tackled by all its corresponding counterparts. Similarly, coordination in government always asks for a some credulity among its different sectors to work together with the ultimate goal - progress of the nation. For example, after the Hirsohama nuclear incident in mid-1950s, Japan was completely devastated. Now if there was to be any competition among the beauracrats or econonmic leaders at that point of time, we couldn't witness a nation that has been so technologically savvy and evergreen in this century.

Adding to this, coordination also leads to a sense of credibility, which makes every member or a group responsible for it's own actions.Competition on the other hand, would only cause disturbance and unnecessary commotion, in which leaders and people don't prioritise country's interests. For an instance, during the period of recession in the last decade, there was a constant struggle of power and popularity between different educated intellectuals who were criticising the policies and measures taken up by the global economy, rather than intimating measures that would ameliorate such colossal losses during that period. Had this been done effectively, people and government would have strived much better with a single goal in mind - betterment of the global economy. Fields like governance, growth,economy need unique and united ideas rather than divergent and trangressive proposals.

However, that being said, some areas of governance and its contemporaries do require a feel of competition in its core members to get better everyday. Competition is one of the most important segments that gives mankind, the will to do better day by day for themselves. Citing a example, let's take the field of education. Good governments and economies are run by able individuals not educated and friendly groups. People who strive hard, having the constant aim of being the best and the people that give their best are the ones who lay up a bright future for their faction, group or the country as a whole. A amiable set of people would not like to put their own interests or the nations interest with the fear of discord among their societies. Such societes might seem happy, but the real progress is hardly acheived.

With respect to the examples stated, I would like to say that competitions and cooperation have their own yays and nays, depending on the commodity they are being implemented in. There are some fields that require fierce competition to grow, and, at the same time, such steps could be disastrous in the progress of other fields. There has be a proper commitment and methodology through which we need to understand the essence and the dangers we face if we imbibe either of the two divergent values of human civilization.