The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The Youth of the country is the pillar on which the future of the country stands. Providing the best teaching and environment for growth to these young people is important for the nation. The prompt recommends that the best way to prepare the young people for the leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. While I concede that the sense of competition is really important to excel in this fast-moving world, but I mostly agree with the assertion in prompt for two reasons.

Some might argue that a sense of competition is one of the most important skills that a human being can possess. We compete in everyday life- at school, at college, and during professional life. Sports is the best example of the importance of the feeling of competition, a sportsman has to have a strong feeling of competition and pride in his success to flourish in the field. But, many team sports like football also require a sense of cooperation in the individual for the overall progress of the team. Players like N'golo Kante have been crucial for the success of their team because of their ability to play as a part of the team, not as a competitive individual. Moreover, a sense of competition might have some serious ramifications.

First, the sense of competition and excessive pride might make the person tendentious and vainglorious, which can have a serious impact on the society they live in. For instance, it was the competition for a piece of land between France and Germany which led to world war II. History is rife with such examples. Even, world war II was instigated by Hitler because of the excessive competition and will to be better than other nations. Nation's aim should be to develop a feeling of cooperation and compassion in its youth to prevent these kinds of incidents in the future.

Further, The most landmark achievement in human history was achieved through cooperation. Take the example of Indian independence where the whole nation stood together and cooperated to expunge the colonial rule out of the country. Success in the civil rights movement that fought against the disenfranchisement of the black people was achieved through the cooperation of many communities. Moreover, the most important scientific discoveries in the past were achieved through cooperation. The sense of cooperation and working with the other people for a common cause is what demarcates good individual from an excellent

In conclusion, It would be beneficial for the nation and society to instill the feeling of cooperation and togetherness in its youth. Feeling of competition - although important - might have some deleterious effects on society in the future; and the sense of cooperation, in contrast, might work in the betterment of the society as mentioned in the examples above.