"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The society is made up of a diverse set of people, each with a different kind of personality, different goals, often conflicting in nature. Achieving growth and success in a society with such varied and opposing interests necessitates a leadership which can achieve synergy through mutual cooperation. Thus instilling a sense of cooperation in young people is essential to prepare them for future leadership. However, competition is an essential motivator which encourages people to perform at their best, so some degree of healthy competition is also necessary for any leadership.

Growth of a nation requires multiple cogs to work in tandem, to achieve a common goal. And such commonness of action necessitates cooperation. Take for example, a company with a sales department and a product designing department. The people in sales department might want to focus on attracting more customers which would imply lower prices, but the designing department might stress on good quality and reliability of the product which would be difficult to attain given low prices. In order for the company, to grow therefore the department need to reach a mutual solution, that is directed towards achieving succcess for the company.

However, it is people who form the government, run the company, and they do have personal goals. And just focusing on cooperation might not result in favorable outcomes or any outcome for that matter. As, cooperation does not guarantee a solution. In order to prepare leaders for such situations, it is also required that they should be made aware of, and subjected to healthy competition. A good leader is one who could introduce healthy competition in scenarios where cooperation fails, and achieve required results.

Another point to be kept in mind is that absence of a sense of competition among youngsters, could prove counterproductive. As it could result in absence of initiative or unwillingness to stick up for what you believe to be right in order to achieve cooperation. Thus making them incompetent leaders. It is their personal goals, belief in themselves and their ideas that make a leader succesful. Thus, healthy competition is necessary to nurture a good, self assured and motivated leader.

In conclusion, excessive competition therefore has a potential to kill desire for cooperation, but a healthy competition can help us embrace cooperation. So, while cooperation is one of the primary requirements of good leadership, youngsters should also be subjected to some degree of healthy competition to prepare them for leadership.