The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The issue is whether or not societies should instill sense of cooperation or competition in young people to prepare them for leadership in government, industry, or other fields. In my opinion,a society should instill a sense of cooperation in its young people for leadeship role be it in government, industry or other fields for two reasons.

To begin, it is totally impossible for one man cannot work in silo, to achieve a good result on any task or project, contributions from other colleagues is essential; it is not uncommon that the grading system in schools today are based on competition and prizes are awarded on this basis. However, is this the best way to educate a child on how to become a leader? No. Enlightenin a child on the benefits of working in cooperation with other classmates would help the child learn how to relate with colleagues at work in the nearest future.

In addition, a child trained to compete will have challenges socializing with peers. For example: How possible is it for a Bank Manager that grew up in competitive environment to effectively subordinates without knowledge relationship management? Such Manager would constantly have facass with his team members not because of his bad character but because of social disconnection. Without emotional intelligence, it would be difficult for to relate with peers.

On the contrary, it is arguable that team work encourages complacency as some team mates shy away from their job functions and leave it for others to complete, however, with the invent of a scorecard approach of measuring individual effectiveness, this can be curtailed.

In conclusion, a society will produce more productive leaders if cooperation rather than competition is incorporated in our society as this would reduce ineffectiveness of dictatorial leaders, improve bottom line of industries and lead to a boom in Economic growth.