The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is said the best way to create leaders in the fields of government, industry or other occupations is by developing a sense of cooperation not competition in the youngsters. I agree with this statement because a leader must know how to move forward with the help of others and must listen to the grievances and problems tof the people working under him have and try to resolve it.

An industry or a government does not run solely by one person. Work is distributed amongst the group of people and the leader must be able to synchronize and manage the work done by diffrent teams. For this reason a sense of cooperation is necessary to be present in the traits of a leader. In a company, work is distributed amongst various departments such as the finance, production etc. The CEO or the manger must ensure the flow of data in between these departments so that the company runs smoothly. A lack of sense of cooperation in him may lead to disastrous effects for the company.

When a leader focuses on competition rather than thinking about the needs of the people directly under him , it might raise some queries regarding his leadership qualities. If a manger of a restaurent sees his competition making more profits than his, he asks his staff to do overtime regardless of their approval. This will lead to a sense of resentment in the staff and they will resent him or worst by forfeiting the job. It is important to consider the needs of the people working under you and this is were cooperation comes in handy. Listening to the people taking their advice and then making a decision that is approved by all is a necessary quality in a good leader.

Now it might be benefecial for a leader to listen to every person under him but if a lot of people work under him than he might not be able to help everyone. President of USA cannot listen to each and every citizens and sometimes has to make decisions that dissatisfies someone. In this case to achieve full cooperation is not possible. Competitive leaders might take some decisions unfavorable to his companions but he always ensure that his organization stays on the top. This quality helps companies and industries to grow big and multinational with big turnovers

It is important that the future leaders have the sense of cooperation in order to prevent any discrepencies and ensuring smooth running of an institution or organization. Cooperative leaders are held at utmost respect and loved by the people working under their influence.