The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Society today is trending away from the competitive spirit. Elementary schools no longer give children's sports teams first prizes; rather, everyone receives a participation prize. While cooperation is key to successful governments and businesses, I aruge that competition is necessary for creating leaders who can stand their ground. Furthermore, without competition, the drive to innovate is dampened.

I argue that competition creates confidence. One needs to have a sense that they deserve their spot in society and furthermore, whether true or not, that they deserve it more than the next person. This quality is necessary, in particular for government leaders, who need to be strong and confident in order to protect the wellbeing of the people for whom they serve. Cooperation can sometimes be valued as weak and be taken advantage of. For example, a local government official may concede the wishes of their constituents in an effort to cooperate with their neighboring municipalities. I believe that competitiveness, in particular in the area of government, is necessary in order for elected officials to be stallwart in the promises made to their constituents.

The competitive nature in humans is what keeps us from being complacent. It is what compels us to continually innovate and do better. I argue that this trait is neccessary in world leaders in government, industry, and other fields. For example, let's look at the race to space event that occured in the 1950's and 60's. Had Russia and the USA not been competitive against each other, had they not had the desire to be the first to the moon, it may have taken decades longer to invent the new groundbreaking space technology. Instead these technologies and major advacements in space exploration and engineering occured in a matter of a few years - all drive by competition. Therefore, competion keeps the world inventing new technologies in a faster and more positive direction.

Although competition is necessary for leaders, as I have illustrated above, the need for cooperation can not be completely overlooked. As a leader, one cannot simply ignore the ideas and arguments from their competitors with the attitude of "I'm better than you". Bipartisanship is a pillar in government and industry. Referring back to the example of the race to space, although competition drove the effort, had their not been internal cooperation instilled by the leaders of the project to everyone involved, from the higher ups to the lowest person on the rung, the program would have completely failed.

While cooperation and bipartisanship is necessary between leaders of government, industry, and other areas, I argue that competition holds an even higher value. Competition drives innovation and breads confidence - two important qaulities for leaders today.