The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Having competitive and cooperation skills, no matter in a governmental or industrial sector, is of importance towards being a good leader. An individual, who is willing to be a qualified leader in the future, usually attempts to be competitive, and perhaps, as a result, he or she may undermine the vitality of a sense of cooperation. The possible reason behind for this is that being competitive is somewhat innate for young people, but collaboration is the skill which mastering it might take for them for several years, or sometimes the entire life. I would agree that more focus should be directed on a sense of cooperation in which young talents would attain great successes in the long-term.

In many schools in my country, young students are persistently taught to be competitive to each other in order to get higher results in academic performance. But does this achievement really contribute to shape them as a compelling leader? Competition, of course, assists students to be highly motivated, but this motivation is temporary and might disappear in short time. Take, the greatest footballer in the history - Cristiano Ronaldo. In his early age he was highly competitive that helped him to be start his professional career. However, when he was playing for Real Madrid FC after being adept at team play, he, as a leader, had a sense of cooperation to organize strategy and tactics to completely defeat the opposite team. This means that even if competition is essential to get extra energy, the lack of cooperation might hinder to succeed great achievements, like triumphs and reputation. Young students, therefore, need to learn more to be cooperative.

There is myriad of event in history where a sense of cooperation became superior that of competition. The historical events, such as the World War II, have already proved that without achieving a common sense of collaboration the victory is under threat. We still remember that in the early 1940s, there was a strenuous period for the Soviet Union, where countries had to reach consensus with allies to defeat the enemy. But just imagine, if the leaders of these countries had chosen another way, like showing off their military powers and fighting against the enemy separately, the places where we are residing now would have become a complete chaos. Based on these facts, the assumption we can make is that leaders can attain remarkable results if they are on the same page with their teams and allies. Young talents, hence, need to obtain this skill to make wise decisions.

In the end, although a sense of competition is something heredity and can benefit young talents to get short-term motivation, it can sometimes obscure their ways toward success. It seems that everybody, no matter a professional athlete or a leader of a nation, ought to have a sense of collaboration which usually requires persistent effort to be acquired. Therefore, young students need to be taught these skills thoroughly because sharing the knowledge with each other and working collectively are the key to obtain great successes, not mentioned to becoming a strong leader.