The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

People who become leaders should know how to protect the community they are ruling in, such as companies, governments and other fields. In order to do so, it is necessary for them to be well acknowledged with how to cooperate with other communities while being cautious with when to be competitive. I believe the most apposite way for societies to help prepare young people to become an effective leader is when they are erudite in being cooperative and competitive.

First of all, it is essential for leaders to easily blend in with other different communities. It has proven through history that a community cannot survive if it circumscribes the help from other communities. I would like to mention North Korea as an example. North Korea is known to be a very secluded nation, protecting only those they own and excluding all the other cultures and environment from other nations such as technology, entertainment, and political positions. At first, they seemed to flourish in their own ways because it enabled the laypersons in the nation to pursue their welfare due to economical and cultural bloom. However, as time fleetingly passed by, they hindered in advancing and developing technologies because they excluded themselves from conducting research with other much more advanced nations, which led to people's lives deteriorating. Because they did not accept the helps and suggestions of collaborations from other nations, they got sluggish and weren't able to advance into a better nation. If the leader of the North Korea had been flexible and accepted all the collaboration suggested from other nations, North Korea would have been able to advance their current sluggish technology.

Furthermore, the leader should always bear in mind that they could experience a slump. If so, it would be extremely difficult to ameliorate the problems and survive by themselves, they would have to receive assistance from the other communities. However, if the leader of a deteriorating community did not know how to collaborate and was selfish, none of the leaders from other communities would grant assistance. For a community to survive and prosper, the leader should be capable of collaborating with other leaders.

In addition, it is also consequential for leaders to know when to be competitive. Being contentious and sometimes surpassing other nations or communities could provide people a sort of pride and motivation. For example, World Cup is held annually, having soccer teams from each nation to compete with other teams. If the leader of the soccer team is not competitive, then they would falter and lose all the competitions, losing financial and emotional support, they would lose the motivation to continuously practicing their soccer skills. Eventually, there would be no young potential soccer players left in that nation and soccer would diminish. However, if the leader had been the opposite of tepid and was competitive, it would have constantly reminded the soccer players to be motivated and the soccer team could have won the World Cup. Even the people who watch the soccer games would feel pride and affection towards their nation, enabling them to work more arduously for their nation.

To sum up, due to the reasons mentioned above, I believe it is important for leaders to be well acknowledged with being both collaborative and competitive. The society should educate the young people who has the potential of becoming a leader of a community such as industries or government, to be capable of having both abilities, collaboration and competition.