The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

From the ancient times, societies have focused on honoring the brightest chap with top positions in leadership without considering the effect of cooperation. This prompt suggests that this trend is not the best way to build its upcoming generations for leadership positions in different fields. While I do concede that competition among young people enables them to aim high, I mostly agree, for two reasons, that the best way to prepare the society's young posterity for leadership in government or other fields is by encouraging a sense of cooperation among them, rather than competition.

Admittedly, competition among young people galvanizes achieving more individual successes and goals, making them intellectually sound for such leadership positions as governors, Prime Ministers and CEOs to mention a few. Likewise, It is not an anomaly for a society to seek for the best person possible to handle leadership affairs and change the society for good. For instance, if a company were to select between a first class graduate and a graduate with ordinary pass, to fill a vacant leadership role. Despite both candidates having studied Accounting, it is most likely that the first class graduate will be selected for the role because it is believed that a person who competed with a host of other young people and came out best will outshine his contemporaries if given the role.

However, encouraging a sense of cooperation among youths is a more effective way to prepare young leaders in government, industry and other fields because leadership depends more on cooperation than competition to imprint a desired change. For example, the competition for leadership and power in the trend of the Nigerian government often times led to chaos, destruction of lives and properties, yet not achieving the desired change. If the Nigerian society had instilled the spirit of cooperation among the youths early enough, the unnecessary loss of lives would, most likely, have been prevented.

Moreover, cooperation in leadership creates an atmosphere of love and understanding in the society. Inevitably, everyone contributes positively to the leadership proceedings with little or no oppositions thereby promoting unity. This augments the chances of achieving more than what is desired for the society. Consider a scenario where a person in leadership, without any iota of didactism, shares or seeks for opinions from his surbodinates who are eager to cooperate with him. Obviously, lots of idea would be generated (nobody is an island of knowledge), and deliberated upon; in the long run, the accepted ideas would be easily implemented.

In all, while competition is aimed at discovering the best person for leadership roles, cooperation is rather aimed at discovering the best way to achieve leadership goals.