The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Environmental problems are a huge issues these days and they hold a high priority. These problems need to be tackled with an effective and sustainable strategy. Consumer - generated waste forms a major portion of waste across the globe. Hence, if handled with suitable tactics and strategy, proper collection, recycling and disposal of these can have a huge impact on environment on global scale. I disagree with the notion of imposing restricting on the amount of trash accepted from each household in order to solve environmental problems caused by consumer - generated waste.

Imagine that a lady Rita lives in New York and her house generates 5 Kg of waste, both recyclable and non - recyclable wastes are taken into consideration here. Now, let us apply the proposed technique of limited waste collection on Rita's house assuming that the limit of waste accepted is 3 Kg. Now, on day one the garbage boy accepts 3 Kg of waste, the rest 2Kg remains in her dustbin. It is hard to expect a common man busy with his own family and work to even think about the 2Kg of waste remaining in the dustbin. Consequently, on day five, the pile increases to 10Kg. Now, this amount of waste starts rotting and becomes the source of bacteria and hence, infectious diseases starts spreading among the family members leading to poor community health (as the diseases are likely to spread among neighbours and at workplace) . Gradually Rita acquires a habit of disposing off 2Kg of additional daily waste herself to community garbage bins. So, anyways the garbage goes to the same location as it would have been had the garbage management collected total amount of the waste on daily basis. Thus, the notion seems irrational and ineffective on both short term as well as long term basis.

Moreover, waste management needs to done so that it does not affect public health as well as public convenience over a long time. The capacity of waste management plants needs to be upgraded. New and innovative scientific technology should be implemented to process and recycle the waste with maximum efficiency. Recent innovations in the field of chemical technology and Biology needs to be leveraged. Microorganisms topic of Biology in particular has possess a great potential to work out the convoluted problem of waste management and thus, it needs to explored thoroughly. Furthermore, biological treatment of waste can give out numerous by-products which could be refined and serve some positive usage in industry or daily life of humans. The government needs to establish a dedicated laboratory with researchers and engineers to crack the problem of safe disposal and recycling of waste.

One may argue that the above stated ideas would add to cost and expenditure and therefore tempting to push citizens on their own to minimize and manage waste. However, practically it is pretty hard to minimize and mange waste by oneself keeping in mind the fast pace life of the present generation. Additionally, with the emergence of the apartment based lifestyle, people hardly possess their own garden where they can systematically use the degradable materials like tea bags and food waste as manures for plants .

Therefore, the above factors and explanations undermine the claim. The notion of limited waste acceptance seems to have missed to take into account the long term negative impacts on public health and well being and the inconvenience that it might cause to the residents of the town.