The regional brand manager sent the following memo to the national brand manager for Sun-Beem Facial Cleanser.

“We need to institute a huge publicity campaign for the launch of Sun-Beem’s improved formula. Without an enormous media blitz, including television, radio, internet, and magazine ads, potential new customers will not be aware of our product. And previous customers will not be aware that Sun-Beem’s new, non-carcinogenic formula is on the shelves. The best way to combat the negative publicity Sun-Beem’s old formula received is to fight fire with fire, by using the media’s insatiable interest in any new news about Sun-Beem to sell the new formula. This will erase the negative connotations in the minds of former customers, and will ensure that Sun-Beem is once again the best-selling facial cleanser on the market.”

The argument, at the first glance, may seem logically true but some additional evidences are required to get to the conclusion. The Sun-Beem company has launched a new product. The previous product was a failure as mentioned by the regional brand manager. First of all, we need to know the position of the company in terms of financial status.Then, it should be known about how bad was the previous product. Third evidence needed is about other cosmetic companies and their quality of similar products.

The regional brand manager talks of advertising via television, newspaper, etc, but this would be possible only when they have sufficient money to invest in advertising. It might be that the past product line had caused huge loss and now, excessive investment in advertising may lead to increased risk. The same money if put into the further improvement in the product might be a better option. If the product is actually good, it would slowly but surely grab customer's attention even with very less advertisements.

The manager repeatedly mentions the failure of the last product. So, it should be known that how poor was the last product. If suppose previous product was horrible and had caused serious damage to skin of the customers, then any new better item would not do. Since people are too much cautious about their skin, they probably would not like to experiment on the same by buying the new product. This would seriously undermine the notion of increased publicity by the company. Therefore, any further investment in advertising would mean losing a great sum of money.

Moreover, with the passage of time, other established companies also would have launched new products of similar kind and some of them might be more superior to the Sun-Beem's product. This would lead to diversion of a major section of customers and media broadcasts of Sun-Beem would prove to be a huge failure.

Hence, many additional evidences are required in order to prove the validity of the claim. There is some possibility that the proposed idea might work but a great analysis is required before the company actually starts investing in media publicity.