The best way to teach is to praise the positive actions and ignore the negative ones.

The statement “The best way to teach is to praise the positive actions and ignore the negative ones” rightly emphasizes on recognizing the positive actions one performs but unduly and erroneously tells to ignore the negative ones, which could further lead to damaging the person's behavior or may give rise to bad habits in them.

I am an ardent believer of praising one’s efforts and recognizing them and this is something that I have learnt from my parents. Whenever my mother cooks any dish or tries out a new dish, we as a family recognize the extra effort that she puts into, and that is a way that we appreciate her efforts. To understand this issue better and to elaborate it further I would like to cite a few examples.

A teacher at elementary or primary school has a bunch of kids with varied behaviors and backgrounds, and the school is the primary place where a kid learns many things. Let us consider a small example where a class of students have a sports class where they are supposed to play basketball, and these kids are aged around 10-12 years old. And the class is divided into two teams and we see that one kid is racing towards the basket, but accidentally trips another kid from the opposite team, this wasn't a deliberate act, the kid immediately stops and helps the other kid by giving him his hand, this is an act of kindness and must be appreciated. The teacher must recognize these sort of actions and applaud so that this promotes healthy competition between the kids and encourages positivity and kindness among the kids.But if the kid doesn’t stop by but aims and runs towards the basket for shooting his goal, it is not any deliberate action, it was accidental, so in that scenario until the kids are not injured and until everybody is enjoying and sweating out in healthy and positive environment everything is fine.

But what if the kids are getting violent and deliberately kicking or pushing the other team members just to win the game, that is when the teacher, as the head, must step forward and must not ignore, instead, condemn that these sort of behavior will not be entertained and make them understand that having fun in the game is important and not winning it. Make the child recognize and distinguish between good and bad behavior. If the teacher ignores it as said in the statement, maybe the child will continue this sort of action and that could become a habit and further will root to his/ her behavior too.

Further, it is always believed that some habits become entrenched when a person reaches his/her 30s and it could be difficult to get rid of them. A daily action, will soon become a habit and habit will decide one’s behavior and nature too. So all the small steps and actions that we do or take become the big ripples that decide who we become and do.

To emphasize more on why not to ignore the negative actions, i would like to cite a situation that could exacerbate if ignored.Let us consider a school student, who is a boy, is irritating and making wrong moves on his fellow girl student. And the girl would ignore it, because it was a small and silly move. But he eventually harasses and touches her inappropriately, and this action is noticed by the class teacher, if this sort of action is ignored, this could lead to a serious situation, where that boy continues and may be does it to many other of his friends.This sort of actions should never be ignored, and must be condemned immediately, and mostly severely so that anyone in the class or school does not repeats this sort of actions.

It is the teacher or the parents or guardian who must understand the type of situation and understand what kind of actions to take. If the kid does some positive action, praise them, make them realize that this is always encouraged, so that everyone around them understand that this is a good action, and if it's any bad behavior, even that must be recognized and condemned immediately so that, that sort of an action is not encouraged, and everyone understand that having such sort of behavior will not be entertained and will be highly reprimanded in public, so that it will get instilled in them so that they don’t do such negative actions.

Therefore, i hereby concluding by stating that all the positive actions must be encouraged and recognized, so that everyone around will feel motivated to do similar actions, and all the negative actions can be ignored if they are not deliberately done and if it is not causing damage and harm to the other person can be ignored but otherwise must be strictly condemned, so that such behavior is not repeated.