The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

Teachers are often the next major influence in the lives of students after their parents. Therefore, any pedagogical approach taken by teachers is one likely to effect enduring results in the way students view the world. The prompt recommends that lauding positive actions and ignoring negative ones is the ideal way of instructing students. I strongly disagree with this for the following reasons.

Firstly, a teacher who praises positive actions whilst ignoring negative ones is more likely to give his or her students a warped sense of reality, one in which they go through life expecting others to extend the same magnanimous disposition towards their failings. For example, a young boy who from his early days in school, constantly had his good deeds extolled and his less than ideal actions ignored goes through early life as a guileless bundle of joy and excitement. He knows no other forms of reality and is convinced that this same feedback mechanism would continue to perpetuate all his life. Imagine his frustration then, when he goes into college or gets a job and suddenly, he has his flaws being pointed out. This would have an overarching negative effect on how this young man experiences life and he will continue to be disappointed by people's reactions to his failings.

Secondly, students who have their negative actions pointed out easily determine when there is room for improvement with regards to their performance. They have a perfect understanding of what is expected of them and are more suited to performing better in various endeavours be it in an academic or coporate setting. For instance, a young woman who has always been taught not only to focus on the good things she has done well, but also to constantly improve the areas she has performed below expectations will mature into a well functioning adult with a well developed view of expectations required of her. She is also more likely to take criticism well and better aspects of life that are below par. This will ultimately lead to a better sense of fulfillment as she goes through life.

However, there are certainly some draw backs in placing more emphasis on negative actions. Ideally, the best learning environments are ones in which students are comfortable and are receptive towards the teachings of their teachers. In a scenario whereby this environment is not in place, students may be apprehensive and experience self-doubt. To this, one can argue that "the end justifies the means". Is it not better for students to go through a bit of discomfort in their early life and be more geared towards facing the future than for them to be molly-cuddled early in life and struggle constantly while experience resentments towards the same teachers that endured their excesses? Indeed, they will be more grateful for the strictness of their childhood since the end would have justified the means.