The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Education plays on a rudimentary factor in every society, in which people acquire social ethics, understandings of the world, and a set of behavior in order to properly communicate with the other social members. That is, learning and teaching is the basic tool of understanding life as a whole. No one can disagree about the fact that throughout our lifelong phase, we are constantly being educated and re-educated by the others in order to get oneself in control and be aware of one’s position within the general social network. Furthermore, it is known that the basic orientation and habitual thoughts and behaviors of a person is molded in the early age of life, which is the period of being taught by the already more educated. Therefore, it is crucial to contemplate on a proper way of teaching, as every inch of teaching behaviors strongly influences the ones who are being taught. The statement assumes that the essence of teaching is to amplify the positive traits of the student, focusing less on one’ s negative trait.

This is agreeable, since the first step for a student in order to get interested in the boundary of education, which is to try to understand the world, i. a.the mechanisms of what is going around you, is to form a welcoming atmosphere. Praising the student of a positive behavior will increase the possibility of having the eagerness to learn. Moral issues are also related to praising: the student inevitably duplicates, and more and less emulates the way the teacher behaves as well. As sanctioning a formidable behavior as appropriate to the given environment, the student will realize the fundamental distinction between what is morally right and what is wrong.

Even though, as a whole, praising is much more preferred to punishment in order to properly educate the student, there is a need to restrict certain behaviors that are improper, such as violence and disrespect. For example, if one student’s behavior has the attention of invading the rules of proper behavior, such as stealing the other persons’ property, or physically hurting someone, the educator is imposed to stop the behavior and prevent it from recurring.

But this is not an easy teaching manual: to praise on positive actions and restrict the negative ones. The most important thing shall be that we may be required to fully contemplate on the binary of positive and negative actions. That is, as the basic mechanisms that maintains the society is according to the “Social Contract”, mainly introduced by Rousseau, that social members agreed to, it is also applied to the boundary of education. Punishing negative actions should be out of full understanding and agreement throughout the members of the social, including children and students in their early educating steps. Thus, teachers are required to inform students about the general rules of behaviors that are proper or improper in the classroom, together with an expected measure.

Nowadays, it is necessary to regard children and young students not as the ones who are simply immature and passive, but instead a full respect that they might have the potential ability to get used to the environment and eventually control their own behavior. Teachers are there only to be a helpful guide to take care and support them to get interested to and acquire understandings of the world.