Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Implementing a long-term governmental plan before taking practical approaches is crucial - launching 10-year or 20-year sustainable goals - due to its necessity in evaluating general approaches when dealing with long term goals in various fields. In any given circumstance and time, there are issues that are crucial but yet unlikely to be solved in short terms, such as urban designing, environmental disasters, and regulating or controlling the overall population. Although, it is imperative to solve immediate problems of today, as it is stated in the prompt, dealing with sustainable goals requires as much attention as the former in order to manage a sound and stable community. In this essay, I will clarify the point by providing several reasons and examples.

Firstly, even though emergent problems that ask for prompt response should be dealt with primary attention, the most preferable type of governmental approach is to accurately predict the various forms and types of anticipated problems and prevent them beforehands. Admittedly, the immediacy of current issues should not be overlooked. For example, outbreaks of epidemic diseases such as the current spread of COVID-19 require practical approaches in order to alleviate the seriousness. Mask supplies should be held punctually in time, before the contagion spreads throughout the whole community. Also, funding and implementing fervous research in vaccination should also be crucial. As such problems call for serious attention, governmental institutions shall have the responsibility to bring the society back to order. However, what if the problem had been prevented before the actual incident? What if the medical research team were capable enough to measure factors that might influence the harmfulness of the virus? Then the whole community wouldn’t have been even involved in the issue and citizens might have been able to sustain a quality life. As a well known aphorism tells us that ‘an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure,’ governments are required to call up as much as resources in order to execute innovative measurements in dealing with future problems, so that the upcoming ‘present’ issues can be always taken into control.

Secondly, anticipated problems are crucial, due to the simple fact that the division between immediate problems and anticipated problems are most of the time fluid and flexible. The once anticipated issues shall at once become current ones as historical examples have shown us. For instance, the ongoing global warming and climate change was, for a long period of time, regarded as future problems. Simply take a glance at the word ‘warming’ in global warming, and we’ll be immediately surprised by the moderate nuance of the term. Severe environmental changes were anticipated for approximately half a century by climate researchers and environmentalists, but as Greta Thunberg articulated in a simple word “How dare!,”only a handful of actions have been taken, which led to the current catastrophe. Thus, unlike the statement’s premise that there is a clear cut division of present and future, anticipated issues gradually and eventually become current problems which require keen attention and participation.

In conclusion, the essay emphasized two main reasons why it is important to take care of the anticipated problems as well as the current problems. First, taking actions in terms of achieving sustainable goals and preventing potential incidents allow us to maintain current life without critical disorder or social loss. Second, the dichotomy of present and future, now and then is likely to exacerbate social problems. Therefore, most importantly, a balanced viewpoint on both immediate and anticipated issues is required in order to manage a stable society.