Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a “Palean” basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the statement argues that (the so-called Palean baskets cannot be uniquely identified as Palean on the basis of the following assumptions). According to the author, although woven baskets with distinctive patterns are known for their regional particularity, they cannot have been exclusively used only in the region due to the fact that a “Palean” basket was recently found in another area, Lithos. The author assumes that ancient Paleans would not have been able to reach Lithos at the time because of its geographical, technical peculiarities. Although the argument seems sound at first glance, it raises several doubts concerning the relativity and validity of the connection between the evidence and assumption.

First, specific evidence is required in terms of supporting the assumption on the maintenance of the form and depth of Brim River. Despite the given condition being unquestioned, a speculation that the river had been the same, or at least analogous, to the current observation is far-fetched. In other words, it can be inferred from the ever changing climate and geometrics of nature that the river might have been severely transformed since the ancient past until the recent era. For example, perhaps the river had not even existed at the time due to the then extremely dry climate. Furthermore, if the river had been shallow enough for the Palean residents to easily cross it, an active interaction between Lithos and Palean might have caused the presence of the “Palean baskets” in Lithos.

Second, even if further evidence proves the assumption that Brim River had been deep and broad during the ancient times as well as now, further conditions should be provided in order to strengthen the assumption of the boat availability. The author’s assumption lacks awareness of time shift so that (s)he rushes to the conclusion that boats did not exist only by relying on the mere evidence that there are no boats found in the region. Perhaps if the boats had been made in wood with its inherent feebleness, it is likely that the boats cannot be found today due to its gradual change through natural decay. Thus, the author should have bring up additional evidence on whether the ancient Paleans bore the skills for producing any type of boats.

Third, considering the lightness in weight of the baskets, there is a possibility that the discovered “Palean” baskets had been contained from one place to another through natural forces such as extreme wind and perspiration. That is, the baskets might have been produced in the Palean region but had been discovered in other inaccessible regions because of their high mobility. The author should have considered these additional factors that might have influenced accidental displacements of the baskets. It is, therefore, proper to ask the author for further controls in alternative factors and possibilities in order to attain enough reliability of the condition.

To conclude, in order to thoroughly evaluate the argument, the author ought to provide additional evidence that supports the stated and unstated assumption. As of now, the potential of dismissing the argument by suggesting alternative approaches is widely open, leading to serious obfuscation and misleadings. In order to ascertain the probability of the given theory as true, the author should reconsider the given conditions as mentioned above.